In 1750, Samuel Bradley claimed a small plot of fertile land
near the Saco River (in what is the now the town of Fryeburg,
Maine), in the then Massachusetts Bay Colony. Bradley began
farming, and built a homestead consisting of a traditional
four-bedroom farmhouse. Jacob Green, a craftsman in the area,
later constructed an adjoining barn, which was typical of the
functional architectural style of New England farmhouses during
After occupying the homestead for twenty-seven years, Mr.
Bradley deeded the homestead to David Hardy on May 13, 1777 .
This inaugurated the first of ten generations of the Hardy
family to own the home and occupy the property. Subsequent to
the initial purchase, and documented in deeds dated 1782, 1800,
1812, and 1815, additional land was acquired and accumulated by
the Hardy family. Over time, "Hardy Farm" grew to be one of the
principal farms in the area consisting of over one hundred
The last members of the Hardy family to occupy the home as their
principal residence were Chester and Alice Webster Black. Mrs.
Black inherited the home from her aunt Mrs. Walter Hardy in
1941. The Blacks occupied the home until their death, at which
time it was left to their daughter, Barbara Black Lawrence.
As an adult, Mrs. Lawrence enjoyed the family home as a vacation
home for a number of years after her parent's death. In 1998,
two hundred and twenty-one years after the original purchase by
David Hardy, Mrs. Lawrence and her husband William sold the
family's home to a retired Army Chaplain and his wife, Marvin
and Kathryn Milbury. After the sale, the Lawrence's moved into
the school house next door, initially as a vacation home, and
today as their permanent residence which they have extensively
"Marv and Kate" purchased "Hardy Farm" with plans to also
operate it as a Bed and Breakfast. In the midst of their
extensive renovations of the home and during what she describes
as a particularly difficult period, one day in exasperation,
Kate prayed for "a little peace within". Shortly afterwards, the
renovations were complete, Kate found her peace, and Peace
With-Inn was born as a wonderful little jewel of a bed and
breakfast and a special place to share with guests.
In 1999, Ashley Link, an avid outdoors enthusiast with an interest and experience in outdoor leadership programs, met Kate while they were employees at Summit Achievement, a nearby outdoors experiential school. Soon after Ashley got to know Kate and Marv, she purchased a gift certificate to Peace With-Inn as a Christmas gift for her parents. When the Links subsequently visited, like so many guests before them, they fell in love with Peace With-Inn and a year or so later, when the Milburys announced their decision to sell the inn and retire in early 2002, the Link family purchased Peace With-Inn.
The family and innkeepers enjoy surprising guests who frequently ask why George Washington's portrait hangs in the dining room, with an explanation that our first President was only a young man of eighteen, when Peace With-Inn was originally constructed. The original hand-penned deeds, previously described, are preserved, on display, and are available for guests' inspection during their stay.
In operating Peace With-Inn, it is the Link's hope to build upon
the Hardy family's rich history and the Milbury's tradition of
providing a peaceful respite to their visitors through
meticulous guest services and genuine hospitality. In this
spirit, and based upon their own experience, they have adopted
the phrase, "Come as guests… leave as friends!" Like so many
other guests, Peace With-Inn became their "special place". Come
find your own "Peace With-Inn" and make it your special place